Heritage Village is officially open!

We have a collection of buildings, some dating back a century, each one inviting visitors to experience a different aspect of Fort McMurray’s past. Walk through history and explore the stories of those who came before. It’s a vibrant and captivating destination, and an essential part of our community.

Download Map PDF

Catholic Mission

The Catholic Mission was built in 1911 and was originally located on the eastern side of Franklin...
Read More »

Chateau Gai

The Chateau Gai building was constructed by Father Bern Will Brown and the Oblate Missionaries,...
Read More »

Fire Lookout Tower — Coming Soon!

Coming soon!

In 1930, the Alberta Forest Service implemented a network of lookout towers, now...
Read More »

Forest Service Cabin

Built in 2009 at Heritage Village, this cabin represents the Clausen stopover cabin, named for...
Read More »

Forest Service Shed

The Forest Service Shed was constructed in 2015 to house large artifacts related to forest...
Read More »

Golosky House

The Golosky House was built on what is now Marshall Street in 1921, along with barns, a shed, and a...
Read More »

Hill Drugs

Originally named Sutherland Pharmacy, partners Angus Sutherland and Walter Hill had this building...
Read More »

Hill Family Home

This was the home of Walter and Gladys Hill and their two sons, David and Kenneth (Ken). In 1934, Walter...
Read More »

Presbyterian Church

Built in 1916 by Reverend D.C. McTavish, this was the first Presbyterian Church in Fort...
Read More »

Royal Bank

This Royal Bank building was the third of five Royal Bank buildings in Fort McMurray. It was constructed...
Read More »

Ryan Brothers Warehouse

The Ryan Brothers Warehouse was built in 1919 for local entrepreneurs and businessmen, the Ryan...
Read More »

Schoolhouse

The Schoolhouse was built in 1938. Frank and Simone Goodwin rented the house from about 1948...
Read More »

Simone Carpentry Shop

The Simone Carpentry Shop was built before 1935 and was used first as a public hall. Joe Simone,...
Read More »

St. Aidan’s Church

St. Aidan's Church was built in 1938 as the first permanent Anglican Church in Waterways. It was used as...
Read More »

Trading Post

The Trading Post building was built in the 1940s. Originally located near the Saline Creek road...
Read More »

Trapper’s Cabin

The Trapper's Cabin, once located at the west end of MacDonald Avenue, was built in 1941 and...
Read More »

Wop May’s Home

From 1929 - 1935, this building was the home of Wilfrid Reid "Wop" May and his wife, Violet May. Wop May...
Read More »

Entrance/ Gift Shop Orientation Plaza Wop May Building St. Aidan’s Church Simone Carpentry Shop Chateau Gai Catholic Mission Royal Bank Ryan Brothers Warehouse Washrooms Presbyterian Church (Archives and Collections) Hill Drugs Hill Family Home Golosky House Picnic Area Fire Lookout Tower Forest Service Cabin Forest Service Shed Schoolhouse Trapper’s Cabin Trading Post Agriculture Barn Storage Bucket Wheel Parking